US Road Test Rules by State: Fails, Retakes, What to Bring

Each US state runs its own road test, so the rules differ. This page collects what the state DMV pages say about what fails the test, how long you wait before a retake, and what to bring. Every row links to the page it comes from.

  • Pages read 2026-10-18
  • 10 states so far
  • Not yet reviewed by an expert
Check the official page before test day
Rules change and these rows may be out of date. The link in each row is the source. If your state is missing, read your state’s driver manual and road test page. We left a state out when we could not read an official page.

Retake wait at a glance

Wait before retaking a failed road test, by state, with the page it comes from
StateWait before a retake Automatic-fail list on the page? Source
CaliforniaUnder 18: 14 days, not counting the day of the failure. Adults: not stated.A list (see below)CA source
GeorgiaAfter a first failure: the next day. After a second or later failure: 7 days. 30 days if the failure involved an accident or a traffic violation.No list foundGA source
Massachusetts2 weeksNo list foundMA source
New JerseyAt least 14 daysNo list foundNJ source
New YorkAt least 14 daysNo list foundNY source
North Carolina7 calendar daysNo list foundNC source
OhioNot stated on the pages we readA list (see below)OH source
Pennsylvania18 and over: at least 1 day. Under 18: 7 days.A list (see below)PA source
Virginia2 days (after failing once or twice)One rule (see below)VA source
WashingtonNot stated on the pages we readNo list foundWA source

State by state

California

What fails the test
  • The examiner has to step in, physically or by voice
  • Hitting a curb, sidewalk or any avoidable object
  • Rolling through a stop sign or red turn faster than walking pace
  • Running a red light or ignoring lane markings
  • Not checking mirrors or the blind spot before a lane change, merge or backing
  • Driving 10 mph over, or needlessly 10 mph under, the limit

The DMV calls these “critical driving errors” and says they lead to failing. The page does not say whether the examiner stops the test at that moment.

Wait before a retake

Under 18: 14 days, not counting the day of the failure. Adults: not stated.

No limit on drive test attempts and no retake fee is stated on the pages read.

What to bring or have
  • Your instruction permit or license, if you have one
  • A licensed California driver aged 18 or over (25 or over for minors), if you are not yet licensed
  • A vehicle that is safe to drive
  • Valid proof of insurance
  • Valid vehicle registration
  • If the car is a rental: your name on the contract, and a contract that allows driving tests

If the car fails the pre-drive safety check, the test is rescheduled.

Sources, read 2026-10-18:Driving performance evaluation scoring criteria (California DMV); Section 3: The testing process, California Driver Handbook (California DMV)

Georgia

What fails the test

Not stated on the pages we read.

No automatic-fail list for the regular car test on the pages read. The driver’s manual says a score of at least 75% is needed to pass.

Wait before a retake

After a first failure: the next day. After a second or later failure: 7 days. 30 days if the failure involved an accident or a traffic violation.

No maximum number of attempts is stated. Each retest needs an appointment and the permit fee.

What to bring or have
  • A paper copy of the vehicle registration
  • A current valid insurance card
  • A bill of sale if the car has a temporary tag or was bought within 30 days
  • If a rental: the rental agreement in your name
  • A vehicle that passes a DDS safety inspection
  • A licensed driver aged 21 or over to go with you
  • Age 18 or over: a valid Georgia learner’s permit and a signed affidavit of 40 hours of supervised driving, including 6 at night

Sources, read 2026-10-18:Road test (Georgia DDS); Test and exams information, retesting policy (Georgia DDS); Driver’s manual, section 3 continued (Georgia DDS)

Massachusetts

What fails the test

Not stated on the pages we read.

No list of automatic-fail items on the pages read.

Wait before a retake

2 weeks

The $35 road test fee is not refunded if you fail. You can attempt no more than 6 Class D road tests in a 12-month period.

What to bring or have
  • A valid learner’s permit
  • A sponsor aged 21 or over with at least 1 year of driving experience and a valid license issued by their home state
  • A completed Class D road test application (signed by a parent or guardian if you are under 18)
  • Your own vehicle, with valid registration and a current inspection sticker, in good condition
  • A car the examiner can stop with the parking brake: a console without a parking brake cannot be used

Unless the test is scheduled through a driving school, you supply the vehicle. The sponsor sits behind the driver.

Sources, read 2026-10-18:Passenger (Class D) road tests (Massachusetts RMV); Schedule your road test (Massachusetts RMV)

New Jersey

What fails the test

Not stated on the pages we read.

No automatic-fail list for the basic car test on the pages read. The manual lists reasons a vehicle is rejected (for example bad brakes or a missing inspection sticker), which stops the test but is not a driver error.

Wait before a retake

At least 14 days

What to bring or have
  • 6 points of ID (originals)
  • A validated permit, legible and not laminated
  • A registered vehicle with a valid inspection sticker, the registration card and insurance ID
  • A licensed accompanying driver aged 21 or over, licensed for 3 years
  • A vehicle with working signals, brake lights and wipers, and a parking brake the examiner can reach
  • A rental car only if you are listed on the rental agreement

Sources, read 2026-10-18:Basic road test (New Jersey MVC); New Jersey driver manual, road test checklist (New Jersey MVC)

New York

What fails the test

Not stated on the pages we read.

The road test page lists no automatic-fail conditions.

Wait before a retake

At least 14 days

No maximum number of attempts is stated. You pay extra fees if you fail your first two road tests. Your permit stays valid until its expiry date.

What to bring or have
  • Your photo learner permit
  • Glasses or contacts if your permit requires them
  • The original Pre-Licensing Course certificate (MV-278), not a copy
  • Under 18: the signed Certification of Supervised Driving (MV-262)
  • A supervising driver: 18 or over if they take you, 21 or over if you drive yourself, with a physical license
  • A vehicle with valid registration, insurance and inspection, and two plates

Arrive up to 15 minutes early. No passengers other than the accompanying driver.

Sources, read 2026-10-18:Schedule and take a road test (New York DMV)

North Carolina

What fails the test

Not stated on the pages we read.

The driver handbook lists the skills graded on the on-road test, but no automatic-fail list.

Wait before a retake

7 calendar days

What to bring or have
  • A document proving your full name and date of birth
  • Your Social Security card or proof of your number
  • A document proving your North Carolina address
  • Proof of legal presence if you were not born in the US
  • Proof of North Carolina liability insurance
  • A copy of the vehicle registration, if a road test is required

The list is the general documents list for a new license. Under 18, more is needed. No attempt limit or retest fee is stated.

Sources, read 2026-10-18:Driver license tests (North Carolina DMV); New drivers (North Carolina DMV)

Ohio

What fails the test
  • Running over a cone in the maneuverability course
  • Knocking down a cone in the maneuverability course
  • 26 or more penalty points on the maneuverability course

These are the maneuverability part only. We found no automatic-fail list for the on-road part.

Wait before a retake

Not stated on the pages we read.

No number of days is stated on the pages read. An Ohio Traffic Safety Office sheet says failing the driving or the maneuverability part means an abbreviated adult driver training course before retesting, and the BMV affidavit form (BMV 5789) says this applies from age 21.

What to bring or have

Not stated on the pages we read.

Sources, read 2026-10-18:Ohio driver license curriculum resource sheet (Ohio Traffic Safety Office); Twenty-four hour affidavit, BMV 5789 (Ohio BMV)

Pennsylvania

What fails the test
  • Being unable to operate a vehicle control
  • Causing a crash
  • Breaking a traffic law, such as ignoring a stop sign
  • Not following the examiner’s instructions
  • Not using turn signals
  • Dangerous or reckless driving

The manual lists these as reasons you fail the test. It does not call them automatic fails, so they may not stop the test on the spot.

Wait before a retake

18 and over: at least 1 day. Under 18: 7 days.

Up to 3 tries per learner’s permit. After the third failure you reapply to extend the permit. No retake fee is stated.

What to bring or have
  • A valid learner’s permit
  • Under 18: the parent or guardian forms DL-180C and DL-180TD
  • The original valid vehicle insurance card
  • The original valid vehicle registration card (a bill of sale is not accepted)
  • An accompanying driver aged 21 or over, with a valid license, in the front seat

No photocopies are accepted.

Sources, read 2026-10-18:Chapter 1: Testing, Pennsylvania driver’s manual (PennDOT); Driver’s test scheduling FAQs (PennDOT)

Virginia

What fails the test
  • A second prohibited communication through an interpreter or translator

This is the only automatic-fail rule found. We found no list of driving errors that fail the test.

Wait before a retake

2 days (after failing once or twice)

After 3 failed road skills tests at the DMV, a fourth attempt needs the in-vehicle part of driver education at an approved school. You can test only once per business day.

What to bring or have
  • A vehicle with a valid safety inspection sticker, license plates and registration card
  • A car with working brakes, seat belts, horn, lights, turn signals, mirrors and speedometer
  • Your driver education certificate of completion, or the completed behind-the-wheel checklist (CSMA 19)
  • Your learner’s permit
  • A rental vehicle only if you are listed as an authorized driver

Sources, read 2026-10-18:Road skills tests (Virginia DMV); Virginia driver’s manual (Virginia DMV)

Washington

What fails the test

Not stated on the pages we read.

No automatic-fail list on the pages read. Passing needs 80 of 100 points.

Wait before a retake

Not stated on the pages we read.

The DOL says there may be a waiting period before a retest. It does not state how long.

What to bring or have
  • Proof of current liability insurance for the test vehicle
  • A legally licensed and registered vehicle in safe operating condition
  • Working brake lights, signal lights and seat belts

The examiner will not run the test if any vehicle equipment is not working. A passing score is good for 1 year.

Sources, read 2026-10-18:Do I need to take a test? (Washington DOL); What to expect on your drive test (Washington DOL)

States not on this page yet

We tried Arizona, Florida, Illinois, Michigan, Texas on 2026-10-18 and could not read an official page for the road test rules, so they have no row. We would rather leave a state out than fill it in from memory or from a driving school’s blog. Other states are not covered either. Use your state’s DMV page.

Nerves on the day? See the driving test nerves plan and the free test day plan.

Read the guides